Treaty of Niagara 250th Anniversary

29 07 2014

250th Anniversary of the Treaty of Niagara – 1764  August 1st – 2nd, 2014

To commemorate the 250th anniversary of the Treaty of Niagara, First Nations Elders, youth, men, women and leaders will be gathering to celebrate as well as discuss this hugely significant Treaty.  Read more about Treaty of Niagara events.



During the 1764 gathering, 24 Native Nations including the Seneca, Cayuga, Onondaga, Oneida, Mohawk, and Tuscarora of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy; Akwesasne, Kahnawake, Kahnasatake, and others of the Seven Nations of Canada; Wyandot of Detroit; Algonquin, Nipissing, Mississauga, Odawa, Ojibway and other Anishinaabe Nations; Menominee, and others who were part of the Western Lakes Confederacy, were in attendance of this historic event. It was signed by Sir William Johnson for the Crown and the 24 Nations that came from the Six Nations, Seneca, Wyandot of Detroit, Menominee, Algonquin, Nipissing, Ojibwa, Mississaugas, and others who were part of the Seven Nations of Canada and the Western Lakes Confederacy. It was on August 1st in 1764 that the Treaty of Niagara concluded.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: